My Story- May

Throughout the end of April and the first two weeks of May, my days started at around 9 am at the studio, and ended around 11 pm rehearsing at Pace University for the Gelsey Kirkland Ballet’s production of Don Quixote (which was performed on May 14, 15, 16). One of our shows was reviewed by the New York Times (you can read the review here: http://www.nytimes.com/2015/05/16/arts/dance/review-don-quixote-ballet-unites-lovers-dryads-and-toreadors.html?fb_ref=Default&_r=0 ) and the last one was completely sold out! It was truly a wonderful experience rehearsing and performing with all of my friends and GKB’s (Gelsey Kirkland Ballet’s) studio company. Although the performances are over, the year has come to an end, and many people are heading separate ways, the bonds that I have formed with all of my teachers, friends, and the studio company members, will last forever. That sounds really cheesy but it is the truth!

*All pictures that are not credited or not selfies were taken by one of my friends.*

Me backstage sewing a tutu for Don Quixote. PC: Natalia Sheptalova
Me backstage sewing a tutu for Don Quixote. PC: Natalia Sheptalova
PC: my mom <3
My mom took this picture of me after one of my performances.
Costume and nails on pointe.  Haha see what I did there? XD
Costume and nails on pointe. Haha see what I did there? XD
The Dream Scene which is in the second act of Don Quixote PC: Camilo Gomez
This is a picture of the Dream Scene which is in the second act of Don Quixote.
PC: Camilo Gomez
Another picture of the Dream Scene. I am to the left all the way in the back...My face is half hidden haha :D PC: Ani Collier
Another picture of the Dream Scene. I am the third girl to the left (I am looking slightly downwards)
PC: Ani Collier

Here is a video of the Dream Scene:

Some more pictures of Don Quixote:

I am so grateful that I got to train for two years at the original studios of The Gelsey Kirkland Academy of Classical Ballet (355 Broadway, New York, NY 10013). This summer, GKA is moving to Dumbo! I will miss the old studios, but I know from past experiences that change is always for the better, and I can’t wait to see what the new location has in store. 🙂

Leave a comment